Categories Band of Brothers Media Print Media Richard Winters

Band of Brothers – Behind the Scenes with Damian Lewis, WWII Nation, June 28, 2014

Original article at WWII Nation

Band of Brothers – Behind the Scenes with Damian Lewis

by Lawrance, June 28, 2014

BOB2

On Saturday 28th June 2014 at the Chalke Valley History Festival, Damian Lewis discussed his experiences of being a part of the critically acclaimed HBO WW2 mini-series, Band of Brothers.
Continue reading Band of Brothers – Behind the Scenes with Damian Lewis, WWII Nation, June 28, 2014

Categories Appearances Band of Brothers Media Print Media Richard Winters

Damian Lewis Meets Veteran at D-Day Landing Site in Normandy – June 7, 2014

Damian Lewis meets veteran at D-Day landing site in Normandy

He’s best known for portraying Marine Sergeant Nicholas Brody in hit TV series Homeland, and it would seem his interest in the military and history extends much further than a Hollywood TV show.

by FELICITY THISTLETHWAITE – The Express –  7 June 

Damian meets with World War II veteran James “Pee Wee” H. Martin, age 93. Source: The Express

The 43-year-old former Eton student was spotted in Normandy talking to D-Day veterans earlier today.

World War II veteran James H. Martin, 93, who landed with the 101st Airborne, on Utah Beach, chatted away to actor Damian as they took in the sight.

The pair stood tall during a wreath laying ceremony at the Richard Winters monument, in Sainte-Marie du Mont, France.

Continue reading Damian Lewis Meets Veteran at D-Day Landing Site in Normandy – June 7, 2014

Categories Band of Brothers memory lane Print Media

11 Actors You May Have Forgotten Were in Band of Brothers – Dec 9, 2013

Embarrassment of Riches

by Kate Erbland | Mental Floss | December 9, 2013

HBO has an archive of award-winning material, but perhaps the crown jewel in the cable channel’s mini-series program is Band of Brothers, a ten-episode special presentation that brought World War II to startling on-screen life in 2001.

Chronicling the real-life experiences of the Easy Company of the U.S. Army 101st Airborne, Brothers dove deep inside some of the most essential parts of the war, from D-Day to Market Garden to the taking of Hitler’s private holiday residence. The remarkable stories told within it were only bolstered by a massive cast of new and emerging talent. Much of Band of Brothers was filmed in the UK, resulting in the casting of a bevy of up-and-coming British actors as some of America’s finest soldiers (alongside plenty of American talent, too), and also guaranteeing that you’ve probably forgotten many of the men who made the series so great.

Continue reading 11 Actors You May Have Forgotten Were in Band of Brothers – Dec 9, 2013

Categories Band of Brothers

Date Anounced for ‘Band Of Brothers’ Cast Reunion Show

The Band Of Brothers Cast Round Table Show has been scheduled for Wednesday, December 7th! Damian Lewis and other Band of Brothers cast members will be taking part in a special 4 hour round table interview live on Black Sky Radio to complete a series of interviews that have been airing live almost every week since June of last year. For a donation to the Richard Winters Leadership Project, you can have your question read to Damian live on air. Visit Ross Owen’s Band of Brothers Cast Interviews for more details and a list of all the actors participating.

Start Times:
9:30 pm GMT
4:30 pm EDT
3:30 pm CDT
2:30 pm MDT
1:30 pm PDT
10.30 pm CET
4:30 am WST Perth AU (Thursday)
5.30 am JST (Thursday)

To listen to Black Sky Radio’s March interview with Damian Lewis and other cast interviews, visit Ross Owen’s Band of Brothers Cast Interviews blog here.